Enlarge Text

Progress Notes Awards


George Dohrmann, PhD ’70, MD ’71, professor of neurosurgery at the University of Chicago, received the 2012 Career Achievement Award from the Chicago Neurological Society. This award recognizes exceptional expertise, knowledge, dedication, and recognition in the field of neurosurgery and neurological research.

Stephen M. Stahl, MD ’75, is a professor of psychiatry at the University of California San Diego. He was named an Honorary Fellow at Cambridge University, honoring the publication of two bestselling books in psychopharmacology by Cambridge University Press, Stahl’s Essential Psychopharmacology and The Prescriber’s Guide. Dr. Stahl is also the director of psychopharmacology services for California’s Department of State Hospitals, an eight-facility system serving 6,500 psychiatric patients with 300 psychiatrists. He recently was named editor-in-chief of the journal “CNS Spectrums.” He gave the distinguished psychiatrist lecture at the American Psychiatric Association annual meeting in San Francisco in May 2013.



Scott Zeller, MD ’86, of Orinda, Calif., founded and directed a two-year long national guidelines project on best practices in evaluation and treatment of agitation. The results were published as a six-article special section in the February 2012 Western Journal of Emergency Medicine. Within two months, they were the most-downloaded articles in the history of the journal. The guidelines were quite novel in being patient-centric, encouraging verbal de-escalation rather than force, using oral medications instead of coercive injections, and avoiding physical restraints. As a result of this work, Dr. Zeller won the San Francisco Business Times 2012 “Heroes of Healthcare” award.

Robert H. Lane, MD ’89, GME ’95,was named chair of the Department of Pediatrics at the Medical College of Wisconsin and pediatrician-in-chief at Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin. Dr. Lane was previously the chief of neonatology at the University of Utah School of Medicine in Salt Lake City and the August L. Jung, MD and Presidential Professor in the division of neonatology, Department of Pediatrics. He also served as associate chair for basic research in the University of Utah School of Medicine’s Department of Pediatrics.


Scott LeMaire, MD ’92, director of research for the division of cardiothoracic surgery, was appointed vice chair for research in the Michael E. DeBakey Department of Surgery at Baylor College of Medicine.


Kwame Amponsah, MD ’06, has joined the Georgia Neurological Institute (GNI) as a neurosurgeon. Prior to joining GNI, Dr. Amponsah completed his residency at Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center in North Carolina.





Mary McGrae McDermott, MD, GME ’94, was selected to receive the designation “Master of the Society of Vascular Medicine.” This is the highest honor bestowed by the Society of Vascular Medicine (SVM) and is given to individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the field of vascular medicine. The award will be given at the National SVM meeting in June 2013.