Enlarge Text

Progress Notes Awards


Robert Feder, MD ’78, of Chicago, was honored by the Illinois Eye Bank at the 15th Annual Gift of Sight Gala in June. The second edition of his book, “The LASIK Handbook: a Case-based Approach” was published in April with contributors from eight countries worldwide. It is a teaching tool for LASIK training with more than 100 cases and 20 surgical videos.

Irwin Benuck, MD ’79, GME ’82, professor of clinical pediatrics at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, was elected to the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society in 2013.


Michael “Mickey” Kron, MD ’80, GME ’83, a professor of medicine in the infectious diseases division at the Medical College of Wisconsin, was selected as a Jefferson Science Fellow by the National Academy of Sciences. The Jefferson Science Fellows program at the U.S. Department of State establishes a new model for engaging the American academic science, technology, engineering, and medical communities in the formulation and implementation of U.S. foreign policy.


Aamir Siddiqui, MD ’90, GME ’93, has been the division head of plastic surgery at Henry Ford Hospital since 2005. He was awarded a $4 million grant from the CMS Innovation Center to explore the benefits of maintaining inpatient mobility to reduce the impact of hospital-acquired conditions and complications.

John J. Kresl, PhD ’92, MD ’93, was inducted as a Fellow in the American College of Radiology (ACR) in May during the ACR Annual Meeting and Chapter Leadership Conference in Washington, D.C. Dr. Kresl is general partner and managing partner at Radiation Oncologists of Central Arizona in Phoenix; radiation oncologist and medical director at Phoenix Cyberknife and Radiation Oncology Center; and chief medical officer at Alliance Oncology and U.S. Radiosurgery in Newport Beach.


Paula Tanabe, MPH ’07, of Durham, N.C., an associate professor at Duke University’s schools of nursing and medicine in the divisions of hematology and emergency medicine, was inducted as a fellow into the American Academy of Nursing last October. It is one of the highest honors a nurse can receive. Her career contributions include improvements in emergency department pain management practices, particularly for patients with sickle cell disease. Her research with the Emergency Severity Index five-level triage system has helped emergency clinicians in emergency departments around the country triage patients. With 20 years of experience as an emergency department nurse, researcher, and educator, Tanabe has published more than 40 journal articles and was co-author and co-editor of the “Emergency Severity Index, Version 4: Implementation Handbook” (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality). She also co-led the production of a video that is included in the Emergency Severity Index standard training materials.

Julian D’Achille, MD ’08, graduated from the Boston University School of Public Health in May 2013. He received a Masters in Public Health in Health Policy and Management with a focus in Health Policy. Dr. D’Achille was awarded the school’s Allan R. Meyers Memorial Prize, given annually to one or more graduating Health Policy and Management students who exemplify the late Professor Meyers’ commitments to academic excellence, to careful research – particularly into the problems of disabled and other underserved patients – and to developing solutions that ameliorate those problems. He was also inducted into the Upsilon Phi Delta national honor society for healthcare management.


Ivan Ciric, MD, GME ’66, emeritus professor at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, was honored in June by the Department of Neurological Surgery with a Lifetime Achievement Award. The department also established the Ivan S. Ciric Distingushed Educator Award to recognize other faculty who have demonstrated a commitment to excellence in teaching.

Kenneth G. Busch, MD, GME ’75, of Chicago, was elected to the Illinois State Medical Society Board of Trustees during its annual meeting. His term as trustee with ISMS will run through April 2016. Dr. Busch is a clinical assistant professor in the Department of Psychiatry at the University of Illinois College of Medicine.

Shastri Swaminathan, MD, GME ’77, of Chicago, was reelected trustee of the Illinois State Medical Society during its annual meeting. His term as trustee will run through April 2016. A board-certified psychiatrist, Dr. Swaminathan is the medical director of the Department of Psychiatry at Advocate Illinois Masonic Medical Center, in addition to his full-time practice. He is also a clinical associate professor at the University of Illinois College of Medicine.

Amy Paller, MD, GME ’83, chair of the Department of Dermatology at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, became president of the 1,200-member Women’s Dermatologic Society in March. She was honored at a testimonial dinner in July by the Foundation for Ichthyosis and Related Skin Types, a national support organization.