Enlarge Text

Progress Notes Awards

Indiana University School of Medicine recently named Emily Walvoord, MD ’94, GME ’98, of Indianapolis, assistant dean for Faculty Affairs and Professional Development. Her focus will be to improve the academic climate for clinical faculty.

Emily Walvoord

Emily Walvoord, MD

Mark J. Kupersmith, MD ’75, of New York City, is chair of the medical board of the New York Eye and Ear Infirmary; director of neuro-ophthalmology at NYEEI, St. Luke’s Roosevelt Hospital and Beth Israel Medical Center; and professor of ophthalmology and neurology at the Albert Einstein College of Medicine. He was awarded a U10 grant by the National Institutes of Health and the National Eye Institute in February 2009. Dr. Kupersmith is directing the Neuro-Ophthalmology Research Disease Investigator Consortium (NORDIC), which includes 44 sites at major medical institutions in the United States and Canada. He was awarded the Distinguished Service Award for Contributions in Neuro-Ophthalmology from the North American Neuro-Ophthalmology Society. He and his wife, Geri, have two children, Dana and Matthew.

Andrew P. Lazar, MD ’82, GME ’87, of Highland Park, Ill., was named vice president of the American Academy of Dermatology in March 2010. He served until early February 2011.

Michael J. Racenstein, MD ’86, GME ’88, of Wilmette, Ill., a radiologist at Alexian Brothers Medical Center, was inducted as a fellow of the American College of Radiology in May.

Francisco Antonio González-Scarano

Francisco Antonio González-Scarano, MD

Irwin Benuck, PhD, MD ’79, GME ’82, professor of clinical pediatrics at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, received the David Applebaum Humanitarian Award from the Shaare Zedek Medical Center in Jerusalem in November 2010. In January 2011, he accepted a new role as division head of community-based primary care pediatrics, providing leadership for community-based pediatricians on staff at Children’s Memorial Hospital and/or on the faculty in the Department of Pediatrics at the Feinberg School of Medicine.

Francisco Antonio González-Scarano, MD ’75, was installed as dean of the School of Medicine at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio in August 2010. Dr. González-Scarano, who was previously the chair of the Department of Neurology at the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine, was selected from more than 60 highly qualified candidates throughout the nation.

Submit a Progress Note